Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

‘My mind,’ he said, ‘rebels at stagnation.  Give me problems, give me work, give me the most abstruse cryptogram or the most intricate analysis, and I am in my own proper atmosphere.  I can dispense then with artificial stimulants.  But I abhor the dull routine of existence.  I crave for mental exaltation.’

-Sherlock Holmes in Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s The Sign of Four

I have not told you, dear reader, about one of my hobbies.  I have engaged in a lengthy apprenticeship with Man, who loves working on cars.  Since he was a boy, he has worked on old cars, most notably a Jaguar XJ6L and the MGB you see before you.

I have felt very grown up and responsible, now that Man has allowed me to assist him in his technical labors.  I oversee all his work, and sometimes provide moral support or distraction, which are important parts of the process.

I have learned a lot about how these metal beasts function, and would pit my knowledge against that of any other canine.  I am invigorated by the scent of the oils and the heat of the welding.  I love the mental exercise of problem-solving with Man to create the ultimate vehicle, which might even run faster than I can on my own mortal legs.

My only complaint is that the MGB is a little small for a dog of my–majesty.  I can’t sit comfortably on the floor or the seat.  As a passenger, I prefer the family SUV, though as a connoisseur and mechanic-in-training, I share Man’s passion for vintage cars.  Best of all, I love the Man-dog time we spend together, which has deepened our relationship.

