Tags

, , , , , ,

Those with the greatest awareness have the greatest nightmares.

– Mahatma Ghandi

It was during those initial months at my new home that I started to have the nightmares.  The nightmares made my legs jerk and I whined in my sleep without knowing it.  Sometimes I woke to find Man and Woman bent over me, concerned.  When they saw my eye open, they would make comforting noises in their language.  They did not know what the nightmares were about.

Orange Boy walked my dreams.  I saw his face, so like my own.  I retraced again and again the haunted path from our safe enclosure to the carpeted room which had been our last, greatest discovery.  The nightmares always ended the same way, with the sound of Orange Boy’s whine outside the enclosure and the scratching of his nails on the raw wood.

