Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Unbidden guests are often welcomest when they are gone

-William Shakespeare, Henry IV (via litquotes.com)

Woman’s mother and father have alerted me to the fact that a strange visitor has arrived on Mr. Bailey’s property and has presumed to play with his football!  This football I have played with before, with my frequent companions, Woman and Man. The visitor is a local coyote, who has, in the past, dined on Woman’s father’s chickens now and then and has left us little records of his presence.

I will confess that when I first introduced myself to the chickens, they flew from me in fright, assuming that I was a coyote too!  I have been told that I bear a remarkable resemblance to the noble-looking wild creatures, which I take as a compliment.


I shall have to see if perhaps the coyote will venture forth during the day like a respectable caller, and will join in an official game with Mr. Bailey and me.  Mr. Bailey advises me not to be very hopeful, as he says that coyotes are not very friendly with dogs, and that they are best avoided.  Perhaps he is right.

Happy holidays to all!  I may not have the opportunity to write for a few days, as I will be taking the vacation which I alluded to in my previous post.   Good night, dear reader.  Elephant and I will retire now.

(My thanks to Woman’s father and mother, who furnished me with the captured image of my wild cousin)

