Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It was the forty-fathom slumber that clears the soul and eye and heart, and sends you to breakfast ravening.

-Rudyard Kipling’s Captains Courageous via litquotes.com

Upon returning home from my holiday sojourn at a canine recreation facility, I find myself exhausted but satisfied.  Is there any greater pleasure than rest and renewal after having exerted oneself in play with one’s friends?  Dear Reader, I will confess that I was quite the favorite among the humans and dogs; in fact, one of the humans told Woman and Man today that I was a “social butterfly,” which I am sure he intended to mean that I was a courageous, masculine, yet very popular dog.  I frolicked with my companions, supped beside them and slept the sleep of exhaustion with them, only to begin again.

Finally, today, Man and Woman came to collect me and convey me home.  I was, of course, happy to see them and to smell where they had been and how they had been diverting themselves.  Woman took advantage of my fatigue to bathe me very shortly upon our homecoming, but I will forgive her this.  Man and Woman praised me and petted me, but I was beginning to pass beyond them, into a deep sleep.

I slept…

and slept…

and slept.  Once I am revived, I will begin the new year with a resolution to aid my brother in all his endeavors, as well as to enjoy life with Man and Woman.

