Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Such young unfurrowed souls roll to meet each other like two velvet peaches that touch softly and are at rest; they mingle as easily as two brooklets that ask for nothing but to entwine themselves and ripple with ever-interlacing curves in the leafiest hiding-places.

-George Eliot, Adam Bede, courtesy of litquotes.com

Exciting news!  Woman’s brother recently brought home an addition to my extended family.  This little bundle of furry joy has been called Ukko, after Woman’s father’s Finnish roots.

Mr. Bailey and I have taken upon ourselves a great deal of the responsibility of raising Ukko during this formative time.  We have taught him where to relieve himself, how to play nicely, and that he is at the lowest (though still cherished) member of our family pack.

Ukko and I played together for quite some time.  Ukko would work up his courage and approach me to try and steal a toy, and I would pretend not to see him.  If I looked toward him, he’d spring back and lie down in the grass.  He puts me in mind of myself and Edgar at his age.

As is perfectly natural, Ukko is teething, and Woman’s brother and his family must constantly tell him “no bite” and give him toys to chew.  I don’t believe I was ever this way, though Man and Woman assure me that I was.

As I look at Ukko, I understand all the more why Edgar and I must right wrongs and protect dog and humankind from coyotes and others who would do harm.

I shall also report upon my progress with the frisbee.  Though I can more often pick   up the frisbee, I still struggle at times…

Let it not be said, however, that I am a dog who shuns challenges.  I will never stop trying to play with the frisbee, and I will never stop fighting the coyotes.